Categories
Notes

Sandy and Tess


Sandy Wilkie in conversation with
Tess

Our main character Tess is a 9 year-old girl who moved 56 miles with her mum to Appin, Argyll, a couple of weeks before UK Lockdown. She came from a town where she had an established network of friends and evening/weekend activities. Appin is a beautiful coastal area but it is comparatively remote & rural. I’m her mum’s new partner, so I have been helping Tess settle into her new home and helping her with learning.


Note 1: March-May

“I’m Tess and I enjoy horses, country dancing, riding my bike and playing outside.”

“I don’t feel comfortable with lockdown, I wish I could be with my friends. I miss horse-riding.”

“I like lockdown cos I can see more of mum and I do less school. We have done nice things at home, that feels good.”

“I’ve used my mum’s phone and WhatsApp to speak to my friends & family. But I really want to go horse-riding with my friend Eva.”

“I’m doing okay with lockdown, but I’ll feel quite happy when it ends. I used to go to a lot of after-school clubs before lockdown, but now I’m not so sure I want to do that.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *